<u>NTT IndyCar Series</u> Open Wheel Racing at its Best

Soichiro Honda's love of competition launched the Honda Motor Company. His lifelong desire to compete – and win – at the highest levels of the sport is legendary. In North America, American Honda and Honda Performance Development have focused their competitive efforts on Indy car racing since the formation of HPD in 1993.

No other form of racing presents such a wide array of challenges, from the tight confines of Iowa Speedway to the iconic Indianapolis Motor Speedway; from the unforgiving streets of the Acura Grand Prix of Long Beach to the traditional road circuit hills and turns of the Honda Indy 200 at the Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course. The 2020 NTT IndyCar Series will include 17 tests of man and machine, highlighted by this May's 104th running of the Indianapolis 500.

Starting in Championship Auto Racing Teams (CART) competition in 1994, Honda won its first manufacturers' and drivers' championships in 1996. Three more manufacturers' titles (in 1998, '99 and 2001) and five additional drivers' crowns (1997-2001) followed.

Joining the Indy Racing League [now IndyCar Series] in 2003, additional race victories and series championships soon became part of the Honda/HPD legacy, including 12 victories – nine of them consecutive – in the Indianapolis 500 from 2004-2017.

From 2003-05, Honda teams and drivers scored 28 victories in 49 races against competition from Toyota and Chevrolet, including the 2004 and '05 Indianapolis 500s, as well as the manufacturers', drivers' and Rookie of the Year titles.

Honda then served as the single engine supplier to the IndyCar Series from 2006-11. Powering Indy cars to victory over this period provided a valuable opportunity for Honda to showcase its trademark reliability. Only six race-day engine failures were recorded throughout Honda's six seasons as single engine supplier, with no race-day failures during the entire 2008, 2010 and 2011 race seasons. For the six years Honda powered the entire 33-car starting field at the Indianapolis 500 – and the only six times in Indy 500 history – there was not a single engine-related retirement in the event.

Manufacturer competition returned to Indy car racing in 2012. Even so, for the ninth consecutive year, a Honda-powered machine found its way to Victory Circle at the Indianapolis 500, as Dario Franchitti joined the exclusive ranks of three-time Indy winners. Since then, additional "500" triumphs have been recorded by Honda drivers Ryan Hunter-Reay (2014), Alexander Rossi (the historic 100th running in 2016) and Takuma Sato in 2017.

Eleven wins from 17 races in 2018 brought Honda the company's seventh IndyCar Manufacturers' Championship, and a 1-2 finish in the Drivers' Championship for Dixon and Rossi. Honda successfully defending the Manufacturers' Championship in 2019, recording another eight wins last year.

Honda's Indy car win total of 245 in 25 years of North American open-wheel racing is unmatched by any other manufacturer in the same period.