

## **Honda Indy Car Milestones**

- March 20, 1994: Honda makes its PPG IndyCar Series debut at the season-opening Championship Auto Racing Teams (CART) race in Surfers Paradise, Australia.
- August 20, 1995: Andre Ribeiro and Tasman Motorsports record Honda's first CART race victory at the New England 200, on the one-mile New Hampshire International Speedway oval.
- 1996: Honda wins 11 Champ Car races, claiming its first CART Manufacturers' Championship and drivers' title with Target Chip Ganassi Racing driver Jimmy Vasser.
- 1997: Honda drivers Alex Zanardi, Gil de Ferran and Jimmy Vasser finish 1-2-3 in the CART drivers' championship.
- 1998: Honda wins its second CART Manufacturers' Championship and third drivers' title as Alex Zanardi repeats as series champion.
- 1999: Honda wins its third Manufacturers' Championship in four years. Juan Pablo Montoya edges fellow Honda driver Dario Franchitti on a tie-breaker for the drivers' title.
- 2000: Team Penske's Gil de Ferran records Honda's fifth consecutive CART drivers' title, and sets a new world closed-course lap speed record of 241.428 mph during qualifying at California Speedway. Helio Castroneves scores Honda's 50<sup>th</sup> win at the Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course.
- 2001: Honda wins its fourth and final CART Manufacturers' Championship, and de Ferran wins his second consecutive drivers' title.
- 2003: After nine years of CART competition, Honda joins the Indy Racing League. Andretti Green Racing's Tony Kanaan scores the first win for the manufacturer at Phoenix International Raceway, in the second race of the season. Honda returns to the Indianapolis 500 for the first time since 1995. Tony Kanaan starts second and finishes third for Honda.

- 2004: Buddy Rice, driving for Rahal Letterman Racing, wins the Indianapolis 500, Honda's first "500" victory in just the company's fourth appearance at Indianapolis. Honda wins its first IndyCar Series Manufacturers' Championship, with 14 victories from 16 races. Tony Kanaan wins the drivers' championship; and Dan Wheldon is Rookie of the Year.
- 2005: Dan Wheldon scores Honda's second consecutive Indianapolis 500 victory en route to the IndyCar drivers' championship. Honda repeats as IndyCar Manufacturers' Champion.
- 2006: Honda takes on a new role as single engine supplier for the IndyCar Series. Honda-powered drivers and teams log 171,179 racing miles in 14 races, with just three in-race engine failures, in Honda's first season as sole engine supplier to the series. Honda will continue to supply engines to the full IndyCar Series field through 2011.
- May 28, 2006: Honda supplies the entire 33-car starting field at the Indianapolis 500. For the first time in "500" history, the race is run without a single engine-related retirement.
- 2007-08: Honda again provides 100 percent reliability at the 2007 Indianapolis 500, and completes the season with just a single in-race engine failure. More than 40 drivers and teams take part in the 2008 season, including another Indianapolis 500, with no in-race engine failures.
- 2009: For a record-extending fourth consecutive year, Honda powers the entire Indianapolis 500 starting field without a single engine failure; only one engine failure is recorded during the entire season.
- May 30, 2010: Dario Franchitti scores Honda's 100th IndyCar win at the Indianapolis 500, extending his mark as the company's most successful IndyCar driver.
- 2011: Honda completes its final year as single engine supplier, again with no in-race engine failures. From 2006-11, a total of 98 drivers use the Honda Indy V8 engine with 15 drivers recording race victories. Honda engines log more than 1.2 million miles of practice, qualifying and racing over six seasons; and nearly 500,000 actual race miles.
- May 29, 2011: Honda again powers the entire 33-car Indianapolis 500 starting field, and for a record-extending sixth consecutive time there is not a single engine failure in the race.
- 2012: Manufacturer competition returns to the IndyCar Series with Chevrolet and Lotus joining Honda in supplying new-era 2.2-liter turbocharged V6 engines to teams and drivers. Honda-powered drivers record four race wins, including Dario Franchitti's third Indianapolis 500 victory the ninth consecutive "500" win for Honda. Other Honda-powered race winners include Scott Dixon and Justin Wilson. Simon Pagenaud claims Rookie of the Year honors.
- -2013: Five Honda-powered drivers score a total of nine race victories, with Scott Dixon winning four times en route to his third IndyCar drivers' championship. Honda records its 200th IndyCar race win with a 1-2-3 sweep of the 400-mile contest at Pocono Raceway, led by Dixon, followed home by his Chip Ganassi Racing teammates, Charlie Kimball and Franchitti.
- -2014: Ryan Hunter-Reay scores Honda's 10<sup>th</sup> Indianapolis 500 victory in the last 11 years. Hunter-Reay leads the Honda-powered field with three race wins in 2014, with Simon Pagenaud winning twice and rookie Carlos Huertas scoring his first victory.

- -2015: Graham Rahal scores two victories and contends for the IndyCar Series drivers' championship through the final round at Sonoma Raceway. Former series champion Ryan Hunter-Reay also posts a pair of wins, while James Hinchcliffe scores his first victory with Honda power, the third of his IndyCar career, and Carlos Munoz posts his first career victory.
- -2016: Rookie Alexander Rossi scores Honda's 11th victory at the historic 100th running of the Indianapolis 500, setting both fastest race lap and obtaining extraordinary fuel mileage for the win.
- -2017: Takuma Sato records Honda's 12<sup>th</sup> Indianapolis 500 win 17 attempts. Honda drivers win a total of seven races, including a sweep of the Detroit double-header race weekend by Graham Rahal. Other Honda winners include Scott Dixon, Alexander Rossi, Sebastien Bourdais and James Hinchcliffe.
- -2018: Honda drivers win 11 of 17 races for the company's seventh IndyCar Manufacturers' Championship with multi-manufacturer competition. Scott Dixon takes three race victories to claim his fifth series championship and his third with Honda. For the second year in a row, all five full-time Honda teams score at least one win, with victories recorded by Dixon (3), Sebastien Bourdais, James Hinchcliffe, Ryan Hunter-Reay (2), Alexander Rossi (3) and Takuma Sato.
- -2019: Rookie sensation Colton Herta takes two wins, with series veterans Scott Dixon, Alexander Rossi and Takuma Sato also taking two wins apiece as Honda drivers score a total of eight wins as the company successfully repeats as Manufacturers' Champion. Felix Rosenqvist has a consistently-strong season to claim series Rookie of the Year honors.

**Honda Race Victories:** 245 [65 CART, 180 IndyCar]

**Manufacturer Championships:** 8 in multi-manufacturer competition

**Drivers' Championships:** 16 [6 CART, 10 IndyCar]

**Most Honda Race Wins:** 34 [Scott Dixon]

Honda-powered CART and Dario Franchitti [4]; Scott Dixon [3], Gil de Ferran [2]; Alex **IndyCar Series Champions:** Zanardi [2]; Sam Hornish Jr. Tony Kanaan, Juan Pablo Montoya,

Jimmy Vasser and Dan Wheldon [1 each]

Honda-powered Dario Franchitti [3]; Dan Wheldon [2]; Helio Castroneves, Indianapolis 500 Champions:

Scott Dixon; Sam Hornish, Jr; Buddy Rice, Ryan Hunter-Reay,

Alexander Rossi, Takuma Sato